E=MC2=disaster?

11Jan13

I stumbled on the remarkable E=MC2=disaster?: A Citizen’s Bill of Rights and Consumer’s Guide to Nuclear Power (Pennsylvania Insurance Department, September, 1973) in the back of my file cabinet. In using the adjective “remarkable” to characterize the doc, I’m stressing the foresight of the Pennsylvania Insurance Department in conducting hearings on nuclear power and drafting the rights doc years before the Three Mile Island disaster in March 1979 – and mentioning Dr. John Gofman and Ralph Nader’s research on a potential nuclear disaster occurring in Pennsylvania.

I received the publication from my friend and mentor Dr. Judy Johnsrud years ago. It’s not a great scanned copy, but it is a rare doc that outlines specific information rights and a place at the table for communities who host nuclear power plants.

The file is here: Citizens Bill of Rights.

